
The short answer: compare the stated system scope and every included line item, then compare the totals. Ask Solar Mike is a Utah Tesla solar and Powerwall 3 specialist focused on correctly sized backup for larger homes . Use this solar proposal comparison guide to put competing quotes on the same scope.
A lower total is not necessarily a better proposal, and a higher total is not necessarily more complete. Compare the equipment, backed-up loads, exclusions, assigned responsibilities and closeout records in writing .
Start by rewriting both proposals into the same eight categories. If a proposal does not answer one of these categories, mark it “not stated” rather than assuming it is included.
This approach prevents a broad label such as “whole-home backup” or “turnkey solar” from replacing a written description of what the proposal actually includes.
Battery count alone does not define backup performance. Ask each company to identify the loads the design is intended to support, the loads that may require management, and the conditions that could change the final architecture. Air conditioning, electric heat, well pumps, EV charging, electric cooking and multiple service panels can materially change the design question.
Ask Solar Mike designs for 200A and 400A service panels, but the whole-home or essential-load architecture is confirmed through site verification and engineering rather than promised universally in advance . Every Ask Solar Mike system design is produced and reviewed by a licensed engineering firm .
For a focused equipment discussion, read Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Enphase vs EG4. Use the published specifications to compare continuous output, storage, inverter design and program eligibility rather than treating every battery as interchangeable.
Look beyond the equipment schedule. One proposal may list gateways, disconnects, panel changes, trenching or difficult equipment placement as included items, while another may list them as allowances or exclusions.
Ask each bidder to mark every line as included, excluded, allowance-based or subject to site verification. Ask Solar Mike provides written change-order control when project scope changes . A proposal with a clear exclusion is easier to evaluate than one that leaves the subject unaddressed.
Ask Solar Mike handles design, contracting, permitting coordination and project management; installation is performed by licensed, insured crews under its Utah contractor license . The company is a Utah-licensed general contractor under license 14015846-5501 .
For Ask Solar Mike pricing, place the gross system price on one row and each applicable incentive or conditional credit on a separate row before calculating the net figure . Compare gross prices with gross prices and after-incentive figures with after-incentive figures .
For an Ask Solar Mike baseline, standard solar starts at $3.00 per watt installed, while Tesla solar panels add $0.35 per watt, making Tesla solar $3.35 per watt installed . The rounded net is $2.35 per watt after the current 30% PPA incentive, and a site-specific quote is required .
Read Tesla solar and Powerwall cost in Utah for the verified Ask Solar Mike gross and after-incentive pricing structure . For the Ask Solar Mike PPA offer, the 30% rebate is applied to the system price through the pre-paid PPA program .
The federal Section 25D residential credit is not available for expenditures made after December 31, 2025 . A 2026 proposal should not reduce its displayed homeowner cost by claiming that residential credit .
Under Ask Solar Mike’s pre-paid PPA structure, the agreement governs ownership and the scheduled transfer around year six . Read the agreement to identify the ownership schedule and early-purchase terms .
Under Ask Solar Mike’s pre-paid PPA structure, the system is scheduled to transfer to the homeowner around year six . The written Ask Solar Mike $0 Transfer Guarantee states that the homeowner’s buyout cost at the scheduled transfer is $0 and that Ask Solar Mike covers any amount above $0 charged by the PPA provider .
Separate manufacturer coverage from workmanship, labor and program coverage. Ask Solar Mike’s verified warranty stack lists those categories separately .
Request the written term, exclusions and service-request path for each warranty category, then compare those categories side by side .
The written scope should define completion as more than equipment attached to the home. Ask who registers the products, activates monitoring, documents commissioning and handles service escalation.
Ask Solar Mike customers receive a commissioning receipt, system-registration proof, Tesla app monitoring handoff, a homeowner ownership record, a named service-escalation path and written change-order control . Add the equivalent deliverables from every proposal to your worksheet. If they are not stated in writing, mark them “not stated.”
Utility service in south Utah County varies by address: Payson, Spanish Fork and Salem run their own city power in parts of town, SESD serves others, and some pockets are Rocky Mountain Power . Ask Solar Mike confirms the serving utility as the first step .
Ask Solar Mike coordinates permitting as part of project management, and system designs are produced and reviewed by a licensed engineering firm . Confirm the property’s serving utility by address rather than assigning one from a city name alone .
Ask Solar Mike has experience covering more than 3,000 solar and battery installations . It has a 4.9-star Google rating from 46 reviews . Ask Solar Mike also appears in Tesla’s public Certified Installer locator for Powerwall; current status can be checked through Tesla’s public installer directory .
For Ask Solar Mike, verify Utah DOPL license 14015846-5501, its current listing in Tesla’s public installer directory and its public Google review profile . Apply the same document-based verification method to the other proposal.
Not until the scopes are normalized. Compare equipment and backup loads, then use Ask Solar Mike’s verified responsibility, warranty and closeout terms as categories for a side-by-side worksheet . Compare Ask Solar Mike’s gross and after-incentive prices on the stated basis .
Yes. The proposals may differ in panel placement, inverter architecture, battery design, backed-up loads, electrical work and operating assumptions. Require each company to explain those differences in writing.
No. The federal Section 25D residential credit is not available for expenditures made after December 31, 2025 .
Yes. Ask Solar Mike supports 200A and 400A service panels, while the final backup architecture and gateway requirements are determined through site verification and engineering .
Put both proposals into the same eight-category worksheet, mark missing items “not stated,” request written clarification and then compare the totals on the same basis.
Bring both proposals, the latest electric bill and a list of the loads you want backed up. Ask Sarah in the chat to organize the comparison, or request a Tesla solar design consultation.
Last reviewed: 2026-10-12
Reviewed by Mike Morris, Founder, Ask Solar Mike .

Your Gateway to Global Adventures Await Here.
Home
About Us
Services
Testimonials
FAQ's
Blog
Location: 955 S HOMESTEAD DR, WOODLAND HLS UT 84653
Phone: (385) 312-0904
Email: [email protected]